Genesis of a Character

Characters are created in a variety of ways; too many ways to count, really. I recently had a new character present himself to me, or at least a new character name. (The character is still in the larval stages.)

A few of my neighbors keep chickens. At least two of the roosters for these flocks tend to crow at odd hours of the day and night. It’s not uncommon to hear one crowing in the wee hours after midnight. After an instance of this off-hour sound off, I mentioned to my husband, “There’s that confused rooster again.” The term “confused rooster” morphed into “addled cock” in my head and I said it aloud. (My husband and I are of very similar varieties of not-right-in-the-head, so I knew he’d get the humor.)

Once I heard it aloud, I thought Addlecock would make a good character name. This quickly became Barnabas Addlecock. Earlier this morning, the name Alistair attached itself. at first I thought brothers, but I think instead I’ll use it as a middle name.

Thus is born Barnabas Alistair Addlecock III.

Now, with a name like that, I doubt very seriously that I will use the character in my Waves of Darkness series. It just doesn’t quite fit. I will, however, save it for future use in my Steampunk serial The Adventures of Pigg and Woolfe when I am ready to revisit the project.

That is all.

One thought on “Genesis of a Character

Leave a Reply

