Plans vs. Reality

I was going to get so much done this weekend. Yeah right.

My sinuses had other plans. I’m still not sure if this is a head cold or if I’ve developed a pollen allergy. The one thing I do know is that it has killed my energy for getting planned tasks done.

I did, at least, get started on one of the paying artwork projects I have slated. I wish I could have gotten more done, but I just wasn’t feeling it. It seemed like my mind just didn’t want to settle and let me concentrate.

Anyway, here are my plans for the coming weeks:

Finish the first drawing of a Dragon Age fan art commission.

Get the two promised book cover art projects completed.

Get the cover art for book five done, so I can do a cover reveal for LibertyCon.

Put together a couple of give away contests to be held at LibertyCon. (One will be for the general public and one will be for convention attendees only.)

Start contacting author friends about cohosting an online pre-release party for Hell’s Dodo in September or October.

Contact my local Books-a-Million about a signing/book release event for Hell’s Dodo in November. (I decided on BAM! rather than B&N because they are about 15 miles closer to my home and have a local authors section. The B&N is at the larger mall in the area, on the other side of the river, and in a very heavy traffic zone. One thing working for Merry Maids gave me was an extreme loathing of heavy traffic. Also, a few years back I tried to contact B&N about placing bookmarks advertising my books, since they were available for the Nook and are now in print, as well. I was never able to get any kind of reply from their program director.)

On a more positive note, my book order arrived this weekend. I will have ten full sets of all the titles currently available in my Waves of Darkness series to push at LibertyCon.

Now I have to adjust my sleep schedule for night shift this week and muscle through whatever this is that’s after my sinuses. There has been no fever, so I shouldn’t be contagious. Unfortunately, I don’t have any unplanned paid time off left to spend this year. We’re only allowed three instances of that, and I’ve already used them. If I call out now, it will cost me the attendance portion of my quarterly bonus.

Thanks for putting up with my rambling.

Leave a Reply

